TOP
Spotlight Tour

Xpresso Tours Presents: The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas

The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas

Hey there, everyone! Today I’m so excited to share with you all a little bit about a recently published book that I’ve fallen in love with – The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas. I’ve been in dire need of a lighthearted read, and even though I’m only about a third of the way into this, it’s ticking every single box of what I hope to find when on the hunt for a bit of an uplifting tale. A diverse cast defined by quirky, brooding, and lovable characters of all walks of life, sassy sarcasm, compelling treasure hunts across galaxies. I adore this book, and I’m very much looking forward to making my way through the rest of it.

I should have a review up for this shortly, but in the meantime I’d like to share just a little snippet to give you a taste, so keep scrolling for the tour schedule, more info about the book, the excerpt and the giveaway!

The Tour

This Good for Nothings will be featured all week by an incredible group of bloggers, so be sure to give them all a visit!

Xpresso Tours Presents: The Good For Nothings by Danielle Banas

August 3rd
The Avid Reader
Love, Stars and Books
diary of a wannabe writer
The Candid Cover
Brianna’s Books and Randomness
––
August 4th
Rockin’ Book Reviews
Jazzy Book Reviews
June Reads Books
So Few Books
Star-Crossed Book Blog
––
August 5th
Whispers & Wonder
Bookworm for Kids
Valerie Ullmer | Romance Author
dinipandareads
Book Bustle
––
August 6th
Viviana MacKade
Sarah Says
Twirling Book Princess
The Eclectic Review
––
August 7th
BookwyrmingThoughts
Kait Plus Books
Geeky Galaxy
Trails of Tales

For more about this tour visit Xpresso Tours.


The Book

The Good for Nothings by Danielle Banas

SERIES: Standalone
PUBLISHED: August 4th 2020 by Swoon Reads
PAGES: 320
GENRE: Science Fiction, Young Adult

CHECK IT OUT ON

AVAILABLE AT
iBooksKobo


The Blurb

They’re only good at being bad.

Cora Saros is just trying her best to join the family business of theft and intergalactic smuggling. Unfortunately, she’s a total disaster.

After landing herself in prison following an attempted heist gone very wrong, she strikes a bargain with the prison warden: He’ll expunge her record if she brings back a long-lost treasure rumored to grant immortality.

Cora is skeptical, but with no other way out of prison (and back in her family’s good graces), she has no choice but to assemble a crew from her collection of misfit cellmates—a disgraced warrior from an alien planet; a cocky pirate who claims to have the largest ship in the galaxy; and a glitch-prone robot with a penchant for baking—and take off after the fabled prize.

But the ragtag group soon discovers that not only is the too-good-to-be-true treasure very real, but they’re also not the only crew on the hunt for it. And it’s definitely a prize worth killing for.

Whip-smart and utterly charming, this irreverent sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy, The Lunar Chronicles, and Firefly.


The Author

Danielle Banas is the author of THE SUPERVILLAIN AND ME and THE GOOD FOR NOTHINGS. She earned a degree in communication from Robert Morris University, where she spent slightly too much time daydreaming about new characters instead of paying attention in class. When she isn’t writing, Danielle can be found loudly singing show tunes, spouting off Disney World trivia, and snuggling with her puppy. She lives in her hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


The Excerpt

We approached Wren’s ship, still covered by the shabby tarp. Four guards were standing across the room beside the service entrance, the barrels of their blasters resting comfortably against their shoulders. Upon seeing us, they huffed in boredom, but then they busied themselves with raising the door. A humid gust of air entered the docking bay, scattering dust at my feet.

My head spun at the guards’ reaction. They weren’t eager to attack us anymore, not since we agreed to assist the warden. This felt like an alternate universe, but it was one I thought I could quickly get used to.

“Okay, here we are. Feel free to ooh and ahh to your heart’s content.” Wren grasped the tarp in both hands, fingers twitching with anticipation. Her aura sparked from gold to bright red to neon green and back to gold again before I could properly read it. But she was ecstatic. I could tell that much.

The air in the bay seemed to still as she tugged the tarp free. It billowed and then settled in a heap at our feet, revealing in all its glory Wren’s legendary, grand—

Oh.

Well…  I thought it was a ship. I was pretty sure it was. About 89 percent sure. Maybe.

Possibly 88 percent.

“It looks like a turtle with wings,” Elio whined.

“I have seen scabs on the bottom of my feet that are more appealing,” said Anders.

“Cut it out, Andy! It’s not that bad!”

Not that bad was subjective. The largest ship in the galaxy? By whose measurements? It was fifty times larger than my pod ship, sure, though it was still smaller than any self-respecting charter ship that I’d ever seen. Not only that, but it was old. I circled the ship slowly, taking inventory of all the damage.

The round body was covered in a thick layer of rust, which masked some of the dents covering the hull. Viewports on each of the four floors had hefty cracks, the one in front of the cockpit most of all. A jagged, diagonal slice that pained me just by looking at it. Next up were the flaps that had come loose along the wings, creating fist-size holes in the paneling. Those were followed by a weird egg-y smell wafting from the ramp leading to the starboard cargo hold, like maybe something had died inside and Wren had forgotten to clean it up. And then there was the landing gear, hanging on by only a hope and prayer, causing the parked ship to sit crooked and sad and—oh, Saturn’s rings, am I really going to board this death trap?

The answer to that was, unfortunately, yes. For Elio, I would do it. 

“This is the Starchaser?” I asked. “More like Starcrawler.”

Starturtle,” Elio added. “I’m calling it the Starturtle.”

Stardead,” said Anders. “It is definitely deceased.”

Wren looked appalled. “What is wrong with you three?”


The Giveaway

Enter to win a print copy of The Good for Nothings!
(US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Happy Reading!
🖤

Justine Bergman

Web developer by trade, ravenous reader, excited reviewer, dark fantasy enthusiast, mother of pups, drinker of strong coffee, and player of games. I'm also a contributor over at Fantasy Book Critic and The Fantasy Hive, and I love sharing the love.

4 COMMENTS

  • Peter Hutchinson

    Another excellent blog post Justine! I love the idea of an espresso tour! Books and Coffee, what a combination!

    • Justine Bergman
      AUTHOR

      Thanks so much, Peter! I think you’re onto somethin’ here…it’s the BEST combination, really!

  • giselle

    Thanks for being on the tour! 🙂

    • Justine Bergman
      AUTHOR

      Thank you, Giselle, for organizing it! I probably wouldn’t have heard about it otherwise, and it’s such a great story.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: